Reconstruction des variations du niveau de la mer dans le Pacifique tropical, la mer Méditerranée et l'Océan Arctique

Ce travail de reconstruction des variations du niveau de la mer dans le Pacifique tropical, la mer Méditerranée et l'Océan Arctique s'inscrit dans le travail de thèse de Benoît Meyssignac est porte plus particulièrement :

  1. sur l'analyse des observations de la variabilité régionale de la hausse du niveau de la mer ;
  2. sur une reconstruction de cette variabilité régionale depuis 1950 (i.e. avant l'avènement de l'altimétrie spatiale) ;
  3. sur l'étude de ses causes et de ses origines.

 

Contexte général

Au cours du XXème siècle, les mesures marégraphiques ont permis d'estimer la hausse du niveau de la mer global à 1.7 mm/an. Depuis deux décennies, les observations faites par les satellites altimétriques indiquent une hausse du niveau de la mer plus rapide, de 3.2 mm/an sur la période 1993-2011. Grâce à leur couverture quasi-globale, les observations spatiales ont aussi révélée une forte variabilité régionale dans la hausse du niveau de la mer qui dépasse de beaucoup la hausse moyenne globale dans de nombreuses régions du globe. Cette composante régionale qui s'ajoute à la hausse globale pour donner le niveau de la mer total local, est essentielle dans l'étude des impacts de la hausse du niveau de la mer sur les régions côtières et les îles basses.

 

Reconstruction des variations du niveau de la mer depuis 1950

La variabilité régionale du niveau de la mer dans le passé (avant l'ère altimétrique) est reconstruite en combinant des données marégraphiques avec les structures spatiales propres des océans déduites des modèles globaux océanique. Cette méthode permet de reconstruire le niveau de la mer en 2 dimensions depuis 1950, sur la majeure partie du globe, avec une résolution proche de celle de l'altimétrie spatiale.

 

Satellite altimetry sea level trends over 1993–2009 and reconstructed past sea level trends over 1950–2010. (a) Trends computed from the weekly AVISO sea level dataset. Time series have been averaged to annual time series. A global averaged sea level trend of 3.3mmyr−1 has been removed. (b) Reconstructed sea level trends over 1950–2010 (the reconstruction total time span). A global averaged sea level trend of 1.76mmyr−1 has been removed. Time series have been averaged to annual time series. Cliquer sur la figure pour l'agrandi

 

Cette méthode de reconstruction est également appliquée pour estimer la variabilité régionale de la hausse du niveau de la mer passée dans trois régions sensibles au réchauffement climatique : le Pacifique tropical, la Méditerranée et l'Océan Arctique.

 

Pour en savoir plus

Références

 

Dernière mise à jour de la page : 07/02/2013

D'autres séries marégraphiques reconstruites :

Liste des programmes, projets et reconstructions de données marégraphiques à découvrir ici

Reconstruction of changes in sea level in the tropical Pacific, the Mediterranean Sea and the Arctic Ocean

 

This work of reconstruction of changes in sea level in the tropical Pacific, the Mediterranean Sea and the Arctic Ocean is part of the thesis of Benedict Meyssignac and focuses on:

  1. the analysis of observations on the regional variability in sea level rise;
  2. a reconstruction of the regional variability since 1950 (i.e. before the advent of satellite altimetry);
  3. the study of the causes and origins.

 

General context

During the 20th century, tidal measurements were used to estimate the global sea level rise at 1.7 mm/year. In the last two decades, observations by satellite altimetry indicate a faster rise in sea level of 3.2 mm/year over the period 1993-2011. Due to their quasi-global coverage, satellite observations also revealed a strong regional variability in the sea level rise that far exceeds the average overall rise in many parts of the earth. The regional component that adds to the overall rise to give the total local sea level is key when studying the impacts of sea level rise on coastal and low-lying islands.

 

Reconstruction of changes in sea level since 1950

The regional variability of the sea level in the past (prior to the altimetric period) can be reconstructed by combining tide gauge data with spatial structures specific to the oceans derived from global ocean models. This method makes it possible to reconstruct the sea level in 2 dimensions since 1950, for most of the world, with a resolution close to that of satellite altimetry.

 

Satellite altimetry sea level trends over 1993–2009 and reconstructed past sea level trends over 1950–2010. (a) Trends computed from the weekly AVISO sea level dataset. Time series have been averaged to annual time series. A global averaged sea level trend of 3.3mmyr−1 has been removed. (b) Reconstructed sea level trends over 1950–2010 (the reconstruction total time span). A global averaged sea level trend of 1.76mmyr−1 has been removed. Time series have been averaged to annual time series. Cliquer sur la figure pour l'agrandi

 

This reconstruction method is also used to estimate the regional variability of past sea level rise in three regions vulnerable to climate warming: the tropical Pacific, the Mediterranean and the Arctic Ocean.

 

To find out more:

  • Benedict Meyssignac whose thesis defence is scheduled for October 19, 2012 at LEGOS, Toulouse.
     

References

 

Last updated: 12/12/2012

Further reading about the reconstruction of tide gauge records:

List of programs, projects and reconstructions of tide gauge data